A Maine Massage School

Serving the Greater Maine Area


Q: When does the next session start?

A: TBLS runs one class each year beginning in September.

Q: How long is the program?

A: Each class runs from September through the following September, so 13 months.

Q: When do classes meet?

A: Two weekends a month, Saturday and Sunday 8am-6:30pm each day.

Q: How much does the program cost?

A: Tuition is $6500, equipment, supplies and books are purchased by the student as well.

Q: What equipment do students need to buy?

A: Equipment needed is a massage table, new or used is fine. The table must be of sufficient quality to handle at least 400lbs working weight. Tables that are wider with more padding are more comfortable than narrower, harder tables. Massage tables are used by students to practice techniques outside of class. Tables do not need to be brought to school for classes as the school has tables on hand for students to use during class.

Q: How much do books cost?

A: Students can by books from any source, new or used, so prices vary. Students in recent years have paid an average of $250 for books.


Q: What supplies are needed?

A: Supply list: -Massage table sheet sets/or twin sheet sets (2 or more)
-Twin size blanket -Pens/Pencils -Notebook


Q: Are on-line classes available?

A: No. In person attendance is required. Remote learning is only available on a very limited basis in extenuating circumstances (for example, if a student has a virus and is unable to attend class in person they may attend remotely for academic portions of a class day for credit. Bodywork portions of the class day may not be attended remotely and no credit can be given for those missed hours). Missed class time can be made up by special arrangement with the director.

Q: Do students have to pass board exams to get licensed following graduation?

A: No. TBLC is a state approved program, meaning the curriculum has been reviewed and approved as meeting Maine State Licensing requirements, therefore no testing is required for TBLC graduates. Students simple apply for licensure following graduation. Most students receive their license within a few weeks of applying.


Q: What is the application and enrollment process?

A: Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants are invited to visit and observe in the classroom beginning each year in January. Interested applicants are then invited to officially enroll. Enrollment ends when the class is full. Only twelve students are accepted each year. Applications received after the class has filled will be added to a waiting list.

Q: Is financial aid available?

A: TBLC is a small proprietary school and is not eligible for state and federal grants or FAFSA. Students have used various means to pay for school, including funds from the Veterans Administration, Vocational Rehabilitation, the HOPE program and other state assistance programs.


Q: Are payment plans available?

A: Yes. Payments can be made twice a month ($250), monthly ($500), quarterly ($1625), in full or at other intervals that work for the student. Every effort is made to make payments workable for students.